About the BJO

About the BJO

The British Junior Open (BJO) is one of the most prestigious events on the junior squash calendar attracting the best young prospects from around the world battling it out for the coveted titles.

2018 brought an end to 22 years of Sheffield hosting the event, with the tournament to be hosted in Birmingham for the next three years. The tournament will be held across four venues from 2-6 January. Next year’s event will be one of the biggest in the championship’s history, attracting more than 600 competitors, representing over 30 nations competing in ten age categories from the Under 11s to the Under 19s for both boys and girls.

Previous winners of the Drysdale Cup (U19 boys’ title) include current British Open champion Gregory Gaultier, former World No.1 James Willstrop and three-time world champion Nick Matthew. World Series Finals champion Mohamed ElShorbagy won the trophy three years in a row from 2008 to 2010.

Holders of the U19 girls’ trophy include World No.1 Nour El Sherbini and England’s Emily Whitlock, with success in the tournament indicating a promising professional career ahead.

Explore the records to see who’s clinched the British Junior Open titles over the years